First Circular and Call for Papers

The 11th China-Japan Symposium on Coal and C1 Chemistry

Sponsored by

Chinese Academy of Sciences

The Japan Society for the Promotion of Science

August 3-6, 2011

Yinchuan, Ningxia, China

Call for Papers:

The organizing committee of the 11th China-Japan Symposium cordially invites all colleagues who are active and interested in the fields listed below. The deadline for submission of the extended abstract for the proceedings (A4 paper, 2 pages, in specific format) and the registration form are **July 10, 2011.**

Scientific Sessions:

- (1) Coal science
- (2) Preparation, pyrolysis and liquefaction
- (3) Gasification, combustion
- (4) C1 chemistry and technologies
- (5) Synthetic natural gas
- (6) Biomass thermal conversion
- (7) CCS and emission control
- (8) Carbon materials and other related topics

Working Language: English

Organizing Committee:

Co-Chairmen: Jianguo Wang (Institute of Coal Chemistry, CAS) and Kouichi Miura (Kyoto University)

Secretaries: Yizhuo Han (Institute of Coal Chemistry, CAS) and Toshimasa Takanohashi (AIST)

Chinese Organizing Committee Members:

Zhongmin Liu (Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, CAS)

Wenjie Shen (Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, CAS)

Wen Li (Institute of Coal Chemistry, CAS)

Jicheng Bi (Institute of Coal Chemistry, CAS)

Yitian Fang (Institute of Coal Chemistry, CAS)

Yuhan Sun (Institute of Coal Chemistry, CAS)

Wei Wei (Institute of Coal Chemistry, CAS)

Fan Weibin (Institute of Coal Chemistry, CAS)

Guangwen Xu (Institute of Process Engineering, CAS)

Chuangzhi Wu (Guangzhou Institute of Energy Conversion, CAS)

Huasheng Qiu (International Cooperation Bureau, CAS)

Zhenyu Liu (Beijing University of Chemical Technology)

Zhongyang Luo (Zhejiang University)

Jieshan Qiu (Dalian University of Technology)

Haoquan Hu (Dalian University of Technology)

Wei Huang (Taiyuan University of Technology)

Fuchen Wang (East China University of Science and Technology)

Xianyong Wei (China University of Mining and Technology)

Xiaoxun Ma (Northwest University)

Hengfu Shui (Anhui University of Technology)

Hanxu Li (Anhui University of Technology)

Junying Zhang (Huazhong University of Science and Technology)

Tiansheng Zhao (Ningxia University)

* CAS-Chinese Academy of Sciences

Japanese Organizing Committee Members:

Kouichi Miura (Kyoto University)

Takayuki Takarada (Gunma University)

Toshimasa Takanohashi (Natiional Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)

Kazuhiro Ohta (Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Ltd.)

Akira Tomita (Tohoku University)

Isao Mochida (Kyushu University)

Tadatoshi Chiba (Hokkaido University)

Masayuki Horio (Ryukoku University)

Takashi Kuwahara (Tokyo Electric Power Co. Ltd.)

Hisao Makino (Central Research Institute of Electric Power Industry)

Ichiro Naruse (Nagoya University)

Yoshitaka Tokushita (Electric Power Development Co. Ltd. (J-POWER))

Tetsuo Shikata (Babcock-Hitachi K. K.)

Koji Saito (Nippon Steel Corporation)

Toru Yamashita (Idemitsu Kosan Co. Ltd.)

Atsushi Tsutsumi (University of Tokyo)

Atushi Ishihara (Mie University)

Symposium Secretariat:

Chairman: Wen Li

Secretary: Li Yang

Program: Zhangfeng Qin, Mei Dong

Proceedings: Yizhuo Han, Qingde Zhang

Technical tour: Xiaohong Zhao, Jin Bai

Treasurer: Wenhua Han

Registration:

The fee covers the scientific sessions, proceedings, welcome party, banquet, all meals and technical tour.

Registration fee:

Before Jul. 15, 2011,

RMB 2500: Regular attendees

RMB 2000: Student

RMB 1500: Accompanying persons (This fee covers all expenses excluded the scientific

sessions and proceedings.)

After Jul. 15, 2011,

RMB 3000: Regular attendees

RMB 2500: Student

RMB 2000: Accompanying persons (This fee covers all expenses excluded the scientific

sessions and proceedings.)

Payment details:

By bank transfer to the conference account, for RMB only:

Bank: 中国工商银行太原市迎泽支行

Account owner: 中国科学院山西煤炭化学研究所

Account number: 0502121109036402812

Note: It is strongly recommended to make the registration fee payment before July 15 to those who select oral presentation.

Accommodation:

The organizing committee will arrange accommodation for the attendees in the same hotel with the symposium. The room charge and hotel information will be available on our web site: http://sklcc.sxicc.ac.cn/zrhy11/.

Publication of the selected papers:

Following the previous practice, the selected papers will be published in a special issue of Fuel (under negotiation).

Registration Form:

Complete the details of the registration form for each presentation and send it to

Ms. Li Yang (Chinese side and overseas)

E-mail: <u>zrhy@sxicc.ac.cn</u> Fax: +86-351-4050320

Address: Institute of Coal Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences

P. O. Box 165, Taiyuan, Shanxi, 030001, China

Dr. Toshimasa Takanohashi (Japanese side)

E-mail: toshi-takanohashi@aist.go.jp

Fax: 029-861-8441

Address: Energy Technology Research Institute, National Institute of Advanced Industrial

Science and Technology, AIST

Onogawa 16-1, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8569, Japan

Key Dates:

Jun. 12, 2011: Circular and call for papers

Jul. 10, 2011: Extended abstract, 2 pages in specific format (MS/Word file) and

registration form including a short abstract (50-100 words)

Jul. 20, 2011: Final program

Aug. 3, 2011: On-site registration

Aug. 4-5, 2011: Symposium

Aug. 6, 2011: Post symposium activities

Aug. 31, 2011: Deadline for full paper submission to the special issue